Dahon Vybe C7A Folding Bike Review

Dahon Vybe C7A Folding Bike
Dahon Vybe C7A in Chrome

Our Rating

8 Build Quality

8 Design

8 Riding Experience

8 Mobility

9 Value for Money

A good all round bike

Invalid xml response.Invalid xml response.

The 7-speed Dahon Vybe C7A is an excellent entry-level folding bike which is comfortable to ride and easy to pack away.

Best suited for city riders on a budget. The 2015 edition bike weighs 11.46 kg (25.26 lbs) (with previous editions being notably heavier) so it’s not the lightest bike we’ve reviewed but definitely on the better side of ‘acceptable’ range with build quality being surprisingly good for the price you pay.

RRP: $499.99 – view sale price

▼ Read our full review below ▼

Our Vybe C7A Review

What is the best folding bike? The Dahon Vybe C7A is currently ranked #2 in our Top 10 Best Folding Bikes.

Good strong brakes, comfortable seat, 7 gears with good ratios and quick folding time are what makes the Dahon Vybe C7A stand out. The dimensions of the bike when packed up it will be 34 x 13 x 26 inches (85 x 33 x 66 cm) so small enough for the train/metro commute, just. Folding time more like 30-45 seconds and pretty hard to do in sub 25 seconds.

You can compare weights and total folding size of all the folding bikes we’ve reviewed and sort them accordingly over on our Best Folding Bikes Table page.

The main thing we didn’t like about this bike was that the handle bars are not adjustable so riding position is very Neutral. But with that being said, it’s definitely one of the best bikes we’ve tested in this price range.

Have a look at our other Dahon folding bike reviews in our Dahon Reviews section.

▼ Test Ride Results and Full Bike Specifications below ▼

BIKE MOST SIMILAR TO THE DAHON VYBE C7A

Dahon Speed D7 Folding Bike Orange 2015Dahon Speed D7

Durable, great build quality, 7 gears, adjustable handlebars, mid-range

Read Review

 

Price

The RRP for the Vybe C7A is $499.99 / £400.00. We struggled to find it cheaper online. 🙂

Save $117.50 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $382.49)

UK Price: ~ £279.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 23rd October, 2017: $382.49 (24% saving)

Receive instant email notifications when price falls below $382.49

(max 1 email per week)

Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 16th Oct 2017 : $469.99
 9th Oct 2017 : $462.25
 2nd Oct 2017 : $399.99
 *** 25th Sep 2017 : $380.00 *** BEST PRICE
 18th Sep 2017 : $435.00
 11th Sep 2017 : $435.00
 [...]

The Dahon Vybe C7A Test Ride

We found we could pick up quite a bit of speed on this Dahon which was surprising given its small wheels. After our short 40 minute ride we had to adjust the gears as they were starting to slip but we put that down to it being a new bike. A minor niggle.

The ride was comfortable and the build quality overall is pretty good, though lacking in some areas. You felt safe on the bike and though I don’t think the gears are ‘premium’ I don’t think they’ll ever be a problem for the casual user. For those looking to do daily commutes to work then you might find that you’ll want a better gear system or a slightly more expensive folding bike.

The brakes were good and had a quality, firm feel to them. Not quite as responsive as disk brakes but good for V-brakes.

Highly Recommended Upgrades

With a couple of low-cost upgrades you can convert the Dahon Vybe C7A into a great folding bicycle and enjoy a much nicer riding experience. My personal essential upgrades:

Disclaimer: As a product reviewer for Folding Bike 365, I am providing my unbiased opinion of any bikes or products featured on this site; reviewed bikes have either been purchased, borrowed or provided to us by bicycle manufacturers. I do not posses any type of relationship with the manufacturer’s company or parent companies. Companies that send in their goods to be reviewed do not compensate me any way.

This page also links out to bikes which can be purchased on Amazon.com, to which I am affiliate. The website earns a small commission on any sales which are generated from this site. All reviews remain unbiased.

Conclusion


Pros

  • Great Value
Cons

  • Small Wheels
  • Build Quality in areas

I would recommend the Dahon Vybe C7A to anybody looking to buy their first folding bike. This is a brilliant bike. Yes it could be a tad lighter, and perhaps the gears could be a little better but all in all you get great value for money. Two thumbs up from me. – Paul Thomson


Get our Latest Reviews Direct to Your Inbox

Join over 700+ people and get our latest folding bike reviews sent direct to your inbox each week. You are free to unsubscribe at anytime. We don't sell or share your information with anyone else, we're nice people!

Video Review

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel to get access to HD videos of hundreds of folding bike reviews!

Basic Specs

Download the Vybe C7A Owners Manual.

  • Weight: 11.46 kg (25.26 lbs)
  • Suggested Rider Height: 142 – 193 cm (4’8″ – 6’4″)
  • Max. Rider Weight: 105 kg (230 lbs)
  • 7 Speed Shimano Gears with Grip Shifts
  • V-Brakes
  • Aluminium Frame
  • 20 Inch Wheels
  • ** Full Specifications and FAQ Below **

Photo Gallery

  • Dahon Vybe C7A Folding Bike Black

Common Questions / FAQ

  • Country of Manufacture: China
  • Bike rack included: NO
  • Front and Back Fenders Included: YES
  • Handle Bar Adjustment: NO
  • Do the Pedals Fold: YES
  • Got a Question? Ask me here (I aim to respond within 15-20 minutes)

Detailed Bike Specifications

Color: Obsidian
Wheel size: 20 inches
Folded size: 11.8″ × 31.5″ × 26″ (30 × 80 x 66 cm)
Product Weight: 25.26 lbs (11.46 kgs)
Frame: AA Series – Dalloy Aluminum with Dahon Visegrip Technology
Handlepost: forged aluminium
Forks: –
Brakes: alloy, V-brake, 110 mm
Grips: Two colorm ergonomically designed
Crankset: forged alloy 6061 arms, double chainguard, 46T
Seatpost: Oversized, solid alloy.
Spokes: 14 GA Stainless steel
Pedals: folding
Kickstand: alloy, center mount
Suggested Rider Height: 4’8″ – 6’4″ (142 to 193 cm)
Max. Rider Weight: 230 lbs. (105 kgs.)
Shipping Weight: 35 lbs (16 kgs)
Box Dimensions: 33″ x 12″ x 25.6″ (84cm x 31cm x 65cm)

Buy Now / More Info

More info on the Dahon Vybe C7A can be found on the Amazon pages below, along with past customer reviews of the product and a handful of questions and answers from the community.

The RRP for the Dahon Vybe C7A Folding Bike is $499.99.

Save $117.50 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $382.49)

UK Price: ~ £279.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 23rd October, 2017: $382.49 (24% saving)
Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 16th Oct 2017 : $469.99
 9th Oct 2017 : $462.25
 2nd Oct 2017 : $399.99
 *** 25th Sep 2017 : $380.00 *** BEST PRICE
 18th Sep 2017 : $435.00
 11th Sep 2017 : $435.00
 [...]

Additional Resources


Please consider sharing this review on your Facebook or Twitter channels. It helps support the site and is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

3 Comments

  • Doug Boulton says:

    I think I prefer the dahon speed uno, the vybe c7a looks overly complicated in its design, especially towards the rear of the bike.

    I wish Dahon would start to introduce adjustable handlebars like a lot of other folding bikes out there on the market, a telescopic handlebar post is a simple design, it wouldn’t cost more in manufacturing and would be welcomed by ALL riders.

    Lets hope Dahon take an active step towards customer feedback and improves this aspect of the bike moving forward.

    I currently own a brompton and whilst the bike is fantastic, I regret spending so much money on a folding bike.

    Great site, keep up the good work,
    Doug

    • Hello Doug,

      I’ll have to agree with you on this one. I too like the Dahon Speed Uno for its simplicity.

      Adjustable handlebars should be standard in folding bikes in my opinion, you raised some good points, lets hope that the Dahon team read the comments here!

      Brompton bikes are expensive but worth every penny in my opinion.

      Thanks for the compliments on the website, they are greatly appreciated.
      Regards,
      Paul

  • Andy says:

    I’m surprised there isn’t more emphasis on folding size. For anyone who wants to take a folding bike on an airplane, the critical size is 62 linear inches (L + W + H). Any bag that exceeds this limit generally gets charged extra, $50-$100 on domestic flights, and as I know from unfortunate experience, $150 – $200 on international flights.

    I think the great popularity of Bromptons, as expensive as they are, derives in large part because they fall well under this limit. The only other bikes I know of that also do this are the Dahon Jifo and EEZZ, and a bike from Camp with 14” wheels, but all of them are one speed or possibly three speeds, and the EEZZ is almost as expensive as the Bromptons.

    There are a couple of other bikes that are close, though, and might pass on some airlines. These include the Citizen Tokyo and the HASA SRAM F2, the latter being the smallest folding bike I know of with 20” wheels. Both have 6 speeds, though the range is somewhat limited, particularly for the Tokyo, the biggest gear of which is a little over 50”. The HASA range is about 35-70”. The Tokyo sells for less than $200, and the HASA for a little more than $400.

    The other folding size air travelers should be aware of is 80”, because some planes say they reject checked luggage larger than this. As far as I know, all or virtually all folding bikes with 20” wheels or smaller survive this limit, but bikes with larger wheels probably would not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.