Hasa SRAM F2 (6 Speed) Folding Bike Review

Hasa SRAM F2 Folding Bike Side View Black

Our Rating

7 Build Quality

6 Design

6 Riding Experience

6 Mobility

8 Value for Money

A great value budget folding bike, it has a few flaws but overall a fantastic little folder.

The Hasa SRAM F2 folding bicycle is a fantastic budget folding bike which is most suitable for the casual bike rider. With an adjustable telescopic handlebar post, high-quality tires, included fenders, kickstand and a rear bike rack as standard, it puts certain other more expensive folding bikes to the test.

With many claiming that the Hasa SRAM F2 is a cheap knock-off of the popular Dahon D7 we were eager to put it to the test. The SRAM F2 is almost $500 cheaper than the D7 but how does it compare on quality and performance?

RRP: $420.00 – view sale price

▼ Read our full review below ▼

Our Hasa SRAM F2 Review

What’s the best folding bike? The Hasa SRAM F2 is currently ranked #8 in our Top 10 Best Folding Bikes.

Upon initial inspection, the Hasa SRAM F2 looks very similar to the Dahon Speed D7 both in terms of design and features.

For the purposes of this review, we purchased the bike through amazon.com. The bike arrived promptly and undamaged. It was nicely packaged with adequate protection.

The initial setup of the F2 was relatively easy, we needed to pump up the tires, attach the right-hand pedal and adjust the brakes, all of which were child’s play and only took a couple of minutes. We did see that there were a couple of loose screws that needed tightening so we tightened them too and went over the whole bike tightening everything we could.

Unfolding the bike was easy too and took us 20 seconds. You need to fasten the center frame lock and the latch at the base of the handlebar post. The main lock was a little stiff to secure but better stiff than loose, it may also need ‘breaking in’ a little bit.

The weight of the Hasa SRAM F2 is 27.5 lbs (12.5 kg) and has a folding size of 30″ × 22.8″ × 11″ (78 × 58 x 28 cm) so it’s actually smaller and lighter than the Dahon Speed D7 which came as a bit of a shock to us.

You can compare weights and total folding size of all the folding bikes we’ve reviewed and sort them accordingly over on our Best Folding Bikes Table page.

The frame and overall build quality of the SRAM F2 is very high, the frame is made from 6061 Aluminum and is beautifully finished (6061 Alloy or 7005 frame – what’s the difference?). The welds look uniform and strong and have no question that it will last a long time. The bike is currently available in three colors: black, white and red.

The handlebar post is made from steel and is adjustable up to 12cm via a quick release latch at the top of the post allowing the height of the rider to be anywhere from 4’8″ – 6’3″ (142 – 190 cm). The handlebar is 510mm long.

KENDA 20x1.5 K-193

The Kenda K-193 Tire

The 100psi Kenda K-193 20″ x 1.5″ tires on the SRAM F2 are excellent tires, I’ve used them in the past on other folding bikes and loved them to bits. You’ll get around 3000-5000 miles (4800-8000km) on each tire which is exceptionally good thanks to its slightly thicker rubber grip. You’ll also find that cycling is easier compared to a 60psi tire and you will also cycle faster (by a few km/hour) with the same effort and less (if any) punctures.

Shimano RD-TY18SSD

Shimano RD-TY18SSD

The SRAM F2 has 6 gears with a Shimano MFTZ20 6 Speed 14-28T cassette and a low-end Shimano derailleur (Shimano RD-TY18SSD).

The gear shifters on the SRAM F2 are SRAM MRX, a low-end but good quality gear shifter.

Promax alloy brakes and brake levers are responsible for stopping the Hasa SRAM F2. The brake levers appear to be of good quality and feel sturdy to the touch.

One apparent negative we can see on the F2 Hasa are the pedals. They are made of plastic, and whilst they fold, they have a shiny top surface which looks like they will lose grip in the wet and don’t look like they are great quality so I doubt how many miles you’ll be able to get out of them.

Additional Features

  • Includes fenders
  • rear rack
  • kickstand
  • cheap handlebar bell
Folded Size

Folded Size

Folding down the Hasa F2 is very easy, and takes 10-20 seconds. Once the bike is folded there is a velcro strap used to keep the bike closed when locked. The velcro strap does the job well and is very much needed but if you’re using this bike for commuting purposes and you have to attach the strap each time you transit between places (ie on subway, train or bus) then we can see this additional step becoming a little bit frustrating over time.

Another slightly annoying thing about collapsing the F2 is that the long brake and gear cables tend to get in the way when folding the bike. The brakes are especially long due to the telescopic handlebar post and make the overall folding experience that little bit less relaxing.

On the plus side, the F2 folds up very small and compact with a folding size of 30″ × 22.8″ × 11″ (78 × 58 x 28 cm).

The warranty for the Hasa SRAM F2 is 5 years on Frame, One year on parts except brake pads, tyres and tubes.

In summary, the Hasa SRAM F2 is a fantastic folding bike which closely resembles the Dahon Speed D7 but at a much lower price. It offers fantastic value for money and even though it could be improved in areas, for the price, you’ll not get a better folding bike. The frame is strong, the wheels are fantastic, the alloy brakes are good, it packs up small and is light to travel around. Highly recommended.

Have a look at our other Hasa folding bike reviews in our Hasa Reviews section.

▼ Test Ride Results and Full Bike Specifications below ▼

BIKE MOST SIMILAR TO THE HASA SRAM F2

Dahon Vybe C7A

lightweight, adjustable handlebars, 7 gears, great build quality, mid-range

Read Review

 

Price

The RRP for the Hasa SRAM F2 is $420.00. We struggled to find it cheaper online. 🙂

Save $151.00 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $269.00)

UK Price: ~ £199.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 19th June, 2017: $269.00 (36% saving)

Receive instant email notifications when price falls below $269.00

(max 1 email per week)

Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 12th Jun 2017 : $389.99
 5th Jun 2017 : $370.70
 29th May 2017 : $299.99
 *** 22nd May 2017 : $265.00 *** BEST PRICE
 15th May 2017 : $335.00
 8th May 2017 : $335.00
 [...]

The Hasa SRAM F2 (6 Speed) Test Ride

I was actually quite excited to take the SRAM F2 out for a test ride, mainly to see how it compares to the Dahon D7 but also to find out whether it lived up to expectations as it seemed like a great little folding bike.

Test ride conditions: the weather was a little drizzly (light rain) and cold, we would be taking it on our usual route of mixed flats and hills, road and pavements with the occasional ‘test pothole’.

After an initial 15 second setup, still having to tighten a slightly stiff main lock, I was on my way.

Saddle

the first thing I noticed was that the saddle was definitely of lower quality and comfort than that of the Dahon range of bikes, but not excessively uncomfortable. My test ride was for 20 minutes and I think if I was using the bike for commuting or regular longer rides I’d probably opt to upgrade the seat.

Riding Position

The Hasa F2 has an adjustable riding position thanks to it’s telescopic handlebar post which has a travel of 12cm, but with this being said, I would still consider it a very neutral riding position even with the bars at the lowest position.

A couple of important things to note: I’m 5’10” (178cm) and the seat post is almost at full extension (after measuring the seat post it’s shorter than advertised by 20mm, almost 1 inch). Hasa has rated the maximum riders height to be 6’3″ (190 cm) but I’d say it’s more like 6′ (183cm) else things will start to become overly cramped.

Frame Stiffness

The frame is very well built and feels sturdy to ride. It feels stiff. The welds look solid but it’s not as smooth to ride as more expensive folding bikes we’ve tested, it’s not bad though in any case.

Derailleur & Gear Shifting

We found no gear jumping or shipping on the F2 and we tested all 6 speeds, thoroughly. The sprockets are good, as too is the derailleur (for the price paid).

Gear Ratios

The bike is easy to cycle up hill and relatively quite on the flats, building up speed is pretty easy and top end speed it helped too by the tires. No problems here.

Grips

Cost savings have been made when Hasa chose the grips for the F2. Understandably they are low quality as savings have to be made somewhere to offer the bike at the price they do. The grips are uncomfortable and let a lot of the ramaining vibration pass through. Upgrading to a high quality ergonomic grip would improve the riding comfort many fold.

Brakes

The brakes on the F2 were a little spongy, they did brake but not great and rather unconsistantly at times, it takes a bit of getting used to but likely only noticeable to regular riders. I personally would upgrade the brakes if i were using the bike regularly but I suspect many others wouldn’t.

Tires

The KENDA 20″ tires on the Hasa SRAM F2 are perhaps their greatest feature. They ride fast and require little effort to move. Punctures on Kenda’s are rare and they provide excellent grip in the rain.

Vibration

The high-pressure tires let more vibration through that standard 60psi tires but normally you would have a good frame, seat, handlebar post and grips to absorb the vibrations. Unfortunately, the F2 does let quite a bit of vibration come through the bike which is noticeable when riding, more so obviously when going at speed.

Cornering

Cornering on the F2 is good, the stability offered by the Kenda tires means you have more confidence when approaching corners, even at speed. The handlebars are of a good length which makes for good manouverability.

Pedals in the Wet

The smooth pedals are slippery in the wet, even with proper riding shoes. They don’t feel of great quality so I’m dubious as to how long they would last with regular riding especially due to the fact that they are foldable which adds obvious weak-points.

Highly Recommended Upgrades

With a couple of low-cost upgrades you can convert the Hasa SRAM F2 into a great folding bicycle and enjoy a much nicer riding experience. My personal essential upgrades:

Summary

In conclusion the Hasa SRAM F2 performed as expected on the roads. The bike kicks up quite a bit of vibration whilst riding but we’re confident that a new seat and higher quality handlebar grips would help drastically. Gear changes were good, and going up hill was relatively easy. For the price paid you can’t really fault the F2. Highly recommended for people on a budget.

Disclaimer: As a product reviewer for Folding Bike 365, I am providing my unbiased opinion of any bikes or products featured on this site; reviewed bikes have either been purchased, borrowed or provided to us by bicycle manufacturers. I do not posses any type of relationship with the manufacturer’s company or parent companies. Companies that send in their goods to be reviewed do not compensate me any way.

This page also links out to bikes which can be purchased on Amazon.com, to which I am affiliate. The website earns a small commission on any sales which are generated from this site. All reviews remain unbiased.

Conclusion


Pros

  • Telescopic handlebar post
  • Fantastic value
  • Excellent tires
  • Mudguards/fenders included
  • Rear bike rack included
  • Sturdy frame
Cons

  • Poor quality pedals
  • A good amount of vibration whilst out riding
  • Strap required to hold wheels together when folded
  • Cheap components in areas

I would highly recommend the Hasa SRAM F2 to anyone looking for a folding bike on a budget. Suitable for the casual rider but with a few aftermarket upgrades you could easily transform the F2 into a daily commuter bike. – Paul Thomson


Get our Latest Reviews Direct to Your Inbox

Join over 700+ people and get our latest folding bike reviews sent direct to your inbox each week. You are free to unsubscribe at anytime. We don't sell or share your information with anyone else, we're nice people!

Video Review

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel to get access to HD videos of hundreds of folding bike reviews!

Basic Specs

  • Weight: 27.5 lbs (12.5 kg)
  • Folded size: 30″ × 22.8″ × 11″ (78 × 58 x 28 cm)
  • Speeds: 6
  • Frame: HASA Alloy 6061 Aluminum Light
  • Wheel Size: 20″
  • Suggested Rider Height: 4’8″ – 6’3″ (142 – 190 cm)
  • Max. Rider Weight: 240 lbs (109 kg)

** Full Specifications and FAQ Below **

Common Questions / FAQ

  • Country of Manufacture: Taiwan
  • Bike rack included: YES
  • Front and Back Fenders Included: YES
  • Handle Bar Adjustment: YES
  • Do the Pedals Fold: YES
  • Got a Question? Ask me here (I aim to respond within 15-20 minutes)

Detailed Bike Specifications

Color: Black and White
Handlebar post: TIMELESS DS050 Steel (adjustable height)
Handlebar: Alloy Flat Bar 510mm Long
Forks: HASA Alloy 6061 Aluminum Light 20″
Gear Shifters: SRAM MRX 6 Speed MRX-204-640
Brake Levers: PROMAX Alloy BL-46G
Brakes: PROMAX TX-107C
Crankset: JLATAI JT0S1022 170mm 48 Teeth Aluminum Alloy with Chain Guard
Seatpost: Alloy 40.2mm x 510mm
Derailleur: SHIMANO RD-TY18SSD 6 Speed
Cassette: SHIMANO MFTZ20 6 Speed 14-28T
Chain: KMC C30 106 Link
Saddle: VELO Comfort Soft Saddle VL-4022
Rims: Aluminum Alloy 20″ 28 Holes
Spokes: Stainless Steel 14G
Hubs: ACCESS Aluminum Alloy Hubs AE-601F and AE-601R Both 28 Holes
Tires: KENDA 20″x1.5 K-193
Pedals: VP Folding Type: VP-F55

Buy Now / More Info

More info on the Hasa SRAM F2 Folding Bike can be found on the Amazon pages below, along with past customer reviews of the product and a tonne of questions and answers from the community.

The RRP for the Hasa SRAM F2 (6 Speed) Folding Bike is $420.00.

Save $151.00 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $269.00)

UK Price: ~ £199.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 19th June, 2017: $269.00 (36% saving)
Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 12th Jun 2017 : $389.99
 5th Jun 2017 : $370.70
 29th May 2017 : $299.99
 *** 22nd May 2017 : $265.00 *** BEST PRICE
 15th May 2017 : $335.00
 8th May 2017 : $335.00
 [...]

Please consider sharing this review on your Facebook or Twitter channels. It helps support the site and is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.