Montague Paratrooper Pro Folding Bike Review

Montague Paratrooper Pro 2015
Montague Paratrooper Pro in Black

Our Rating

9 Build Quality

7 Design

9 Riding Experience

6 Mobility

5 Value for Money

A really well built full-size folding mountain bike, let down in areas and price.

Invalid xml response.Invalid xml response.

The weirdly stylish 27-speed Montague Paratrooper Pro, is a full-size folding mountain bike initially designed and built solely for the military from a grant issued by the Pentagon.

The Paratrooper Pro lives up to its name and is built to military precision; the bike has been made to withstand the impact of being dropped from a plane via parachute and to carry a fully equipped soldier over mountainous terrain.

Whilst the build quality and performance of the bike is 2nd to none in its class, you do pay the price, and at $995.00 the Montague Paratrooper Pro isn’t the cheapest option out there. We can’t help but feel it is slightly overpriced for what you get…

RRP: $1299.99 – view sale price

▼ Read our full review below ▼

Our Paratrooper Pro Review

What’s the best folding bike? The Montague Paratrooper Pro is currently ranked #6 in our Top 10 Best Folding Bikes.

The patented, FIT (Folding Integrated Technology (F.I.T.)) folding frame design is the focal point of the bike. It’s made from aircraft grade 7005 Series aluminum tubing and the unique design removes the need to break down the main frame and thus doesn’t have any hinged weak points. This is not some gimmicky technology introduced in order to improve sales but in fact the result of some very innovative thinking and helps to address a rather serious design ‘flaw’ of most traditional folding bikes. The Montague’s FIT frame construction concepts were taken direct from full suspension downhill mountain bikes, the result is a lightweight, quick folding and very strong folding bike. Easily the strongest frame of any folding bike we’ve come across. The bike weighs in at 13 kg (29lbs).

You can compare weights and total folding size of all the folding bikes we’ve reviewed and sort them accordingly over on our Best Folding Bikes Table page.

Quick Release Frame

Quick Release Frame

Folding and dis-assembly of the bike is also quick and efficient and can be easily dismantled in under 20 seconds (manual here). You first remove the front tire via Montague’s patented ‘CLIX’ system (thanks to disk brakes you don’t have to worry about detaching any brakes), after this you simply pull up the quick release on top of the frame and lift up the pin, the rear section of the frame then folds around.

A final note on the frame; the bicycles comes in two colors, matte black and olive green, we prefer the black as the green has a definite ‘army’ look to it. The paint finish is beautiful as you would expect from a $1000 bike. There is limited branding on the frame which further adds to the aesthetic appeal of the bike.

Note that this is a full-size mountain bike available as an 18 and 20-inch frame, as a result its likely not that suitable for taking onto the bus, metros, trains etc, but it can be done. The bike is perfect for those wishing to commute straight to their work (not having to go on the subway at any point), for those with limited space or for people storing it in the back of their car but wanting to do some serious biking as and when the opportunity arises.

Having been built for off-road, down hill cycling, the Paratrooper Pro is fitted with some rather strong disk-brakesTektro Novels’s, front and back which perform excellently.

CST Critter Tires

CST Critter Tires

The knobbly CST Critter tires are a fast rolling off-road tire and OK for road use but not great as you’d expect. This is an obvious design choice by Montague knowing that the bike is built more for off-road riding. The CST Critters are a premium tire, have great reviews and offer excellent grip in the wet.

A good feature for road use is the introduction of a suspension lock-out (as part of the SR Suntour XCM HLO Forks) which means that when you’re on the road you can lock the suspension so the forks don’t move, allowing you to go faster with less effort. The suspension itself provides ~ 100mm travel which is pretty good. Unfortunately there is no adjustment for rebound.

The seat is adjustable, but unfortunately there is no handlebar adjustment which means that if you’re slightly on the taller or shorter side and riding for extended periods it can get a little uncomfortable. This is something we feel greatly lets the bike down. The saddle is comfortable enough and perfect for mountain biking or downhilling; those wishing to use this bike for commuting may find it a little narrow and uncomfotable on longer journeys.

The handlebar grips were noticeably skinny. You’d expect that having been designed especially for the military that they would be slightly chunkier. The skinny grips also make the whole bike ‘feel’ like it’s not as sturdy as it actually is. This would be my first upgrade for this bike.

The bicycle was delivered well packaged and almost fully assembled, we had to attach the pedals and front wheel.

Have a look at our other Montague folding bike reviews in our Montague Reviews section.

▼ Test Ride Results and Full Bike Specifications below ▼

BIKE MOST SIMILAR TO THE MONTAGUE PARATROOPER PRO

Dahon Speed D7 Folding Bike Orange 2015

Dahon Speed D7

strong, robust, adjustable handlebars, 7 gears, great build quality

Read Review

 

Price

The RRP for the Montague Military Paratrooper Pro is $1299.99. We struggled to find it cheaper online. 🙂

Save $305.50 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $994.49)

UK Price: ~ £739.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 23rd October, 2017: $994.49 (24% saving)

Receive instant email notifications when price falls below $994.49

(max 1 email per week)

Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 16th Oct 2017 : $1,229.99
 9th Oct 2017 : $1,203.85
 2nd Oct 2017 : $1,049.99
 *** 25th Sep 2017 : $990.00 *** BEST PRICE
 18th Sep 2017 : $1,135.00
 11th Sep 2017 : $1,135.00
 [...]

The Montague Paratrooper Pro Test Ride

We put off taking the Montague out for a test ride until we had a few days of rain. “Finally” we had a couple of days of heavyish rain and we set off for our local woodland trails…

Having driven to the woods with the bike in the trunk, we took it out and had it assembled within 30 seconds. The frame snaps into place with a reassuring click and feels bomb-proof when fully assembled. The CLIX quick release system on the front wheel is a fine addition and provides an additional bit of security, and again feels ‘solid’.

UPDATE: Over the past week we have had a small, intermittent issue with the front brake when we take the front wheel off. Around 30% of the time, the disk-brake seems to go out of calibration and requires adjustment. Not a massive issue but one which would annoy the *$!# out of me if I were using it as a daily commuter.

The knobbly tires handle well in the slippery mud. Going uphill was good but we couldn’t help feel at this point that the bike could be a little lighter for the price paid.

The fun really starts when you hit the downhill trails. The bike is responsive, handles beautifully and the brakes are strong. The suspension is good but when going at speed it doesn’t return quick enough, we expected better but can understand that most people buying the bike are not going to be serious downhill riders.

The bike has clearly been built with the military in mind and does feel like it will handle anything we throw at it.

Shifting through the gears was effortless and with 27 speeds it will handle anything and suit all riders. No issues here.

Our final niggle was the pedals. They just aren’t good enough for a $1000 bike. In the wet your feet slip off them. This would be an instant upgrade for me.

Highly Recommended Upgrades

With a couple of low-cost upgrades you can convert the Paratrooper Pro into a great folding bicycle and enjoy a much nicer riding experience. My personal essential upgrades:

Disclaimer: As a product reviewer for Folding Bike 365, I am providing my unbiased opinion of any bikes or products featured on this site; reviewed bikes have either been purchased, borrowed or provided to us by bicycle manufacturers. I do not posses any type of relationship with the manufacturer’s company or parent companies. Companies that send in their goods to be reviewed do not compensate me any way.

This page also links out to bikes which can be purchased on Amazon.com, to which I am affiliate. The website earns a small commission on any sales which are generated from this site. All reviews remain unbiased.

Conclusion

Pros

  • Relatively Lightweight for Size (but could be better)
  • Looks good, great finish to frame
  • Quick folding/dis-assembly
  • Smooth gears/good suspension/responsive disk brakes
  • Ability to lock-out suspension for road cycling
  • Excellent packaging
  • Used by U.S. Military
Cons

  • Saddle not the best
  • Recurring intermittent issue adjusting front disk brake after attaching front wheel
  • You’d expect better components for price paid but they do the job
  • Poor pedals
  • Bag not included, hard to get in bag once purchased
  • Knobbly tires not great on road
  • Adjustable handlebar height would be nice
  • Small handlebar grips

The Montague Paratrooper Pro is a fantastic full-size bike. The innovative design is great and is extremely well made. Lacking in just a few areas but perfet for those wanting a ‘serious’ bike that they know can handle any terrain. – A highly recommended bike that looks good and performs well. – Paul Thomson

Video Review

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel to get access to HD videos of hundreds of folding bike reviews!

Basic Specs

  • Weight: 13 kg (29lbs)
  • Speeds: 27
  • Brakes: Tektro Novela. Front & rear mechanical disc w/ pad adjustment. Alloy Levers.
  • Frame: Custom drawn 7005 Series Aluminum with FIT System.  Replaceable derailleur hanger and disc mount.
  • Forks: SR Suntour XCM HLO with hydraulic lockout. 100 mm travel. Alloy one piece lower. Disc Compatible
  • Wheel Size: 26″
  • ** Full Specifications and FAQ Below **

Photo Gallery

  • Montague Paratrooper Pro 2015
    Montague Paratrooper Pro in Black

Common Questions / FAQ

  • Country of Manufacture: Vietnam
  • Do the Pedals Fold: NO
  • Is the handlebar height adjustable: NO
  • Suitable rider height: 20” frame is for people 5’11”-6’4″ and the 18″ for 5’3″-5’10”
  • Got a Question? Ask me here (I aim to respond within 15-20 minutes)

Detailed Bike Specifications

Color: Matte Black / Olive Green
Wheel size: 26 inches
Folded size: 36″ x 28″ x 12″ (91.5 × 71.0 x 30.5 cm)
Product Weight: 29lbs (13 kgs)
Frame: Custom drawn 7005 Series Aluminum with FIT System.  Replaceable derailleur hanger and disc mount.
Available Frame Sizes: 18-Inch & 20-Inch
Handlepost: Kalloy. Alloy. 7 degree backsweep. 31.8 Barbore. 580mm length.
Forks: SR Suntour XCM HLO with hydraulic lockout. 100 mm travel. Alloy one piece lower. Disc Compatible
Shifters: Shimano RAPIDFIRE Plus Trigger Shifters
Brakes: Tektro Novela. Front & rear mechanical disc w/ pad adjustment. Alloy Levers.
Crankset: SR Suntour XCM. 42/32/22. Alloy 170mm crank arm.
Seatpost: Kalloy, 30.0 X 300mm Alloy.
Rear Derailleur: Shimano SLX 9-Speed
Front Derailleur: Shimano Acera. Top Swing Dual Pull
Spokes: 14 Gauge Stainless
Rims:
 Alloy, 32 hole. Double Wall.  Black.
Tires: CST Critter. Knobby. 26 x 1.95″.
Pedals: Platform pedal with steel cage.
Shipping Weight: 42 lbs (19 kgs)
Box Dimensions: 36″ x 12″ x 31″ (91.4 x 30.5 x 78.7 cm)

Buy Now / More Info

More info on the Montague Paratrooper Pro Folding Bike can be found on the Amazon pages below, along with past customer reviews of the product and a tonne of questions and answers from the community.

The RRP for the Montague Paratrooper Pro Folding Bike is $1299.99.

Save $305.50 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $994.49)

UK Price: ~ £739.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 23rd October, 2017: $994.49 (24% saving)
Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 16th Oct 2017 : $1,229.99
 9th Oct 2017 : $1,203.85
 2nd Oct 2017 : $1,049.99
 *** 25th Sep 2017 : $990.00 *** BEST PRICE
 18th Sep 2017 : $1,135.00
 11th Sep 2017 : $1,135.00
 [...]

Additional Resources


Please consider sharing this review on your Facebook or Twitter channels. It helps support the site and is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

4 Comments

  • Dr. Boo says:

    God I want this!

  • The Riddler says:

    As an owner of the Montague Paratrooper Pro for a number of years it’s worth pointing out that it takes longer to bag up the bike than what it does to fold it.

    Also, if you are bagging up the bike then you have to remove the front wheel, this takes considerably longer than what it does to fold and putting the front wheel inside the bag is a real pain.

    Also, a good addition is a good quality adjustable riser stem (or the upgradeable Montague Octagon Stem) which transforms the bike into a completely different bike and a nice optional extra would be some clipless pedals.

    If you’re going to be using it on the road then you might want to consider replacing the knobblies for road tires.

    Be careful about counterfeit copies of the Montague Paratrooper and Paratrooper Pro. (Montague Bikes: How to Spot a Counterfeit).

    Another bike from Montague also worth considering is their Swissbike X70 which hosts Deore components a better spec fork and a less military looking paint-job.

    I hope this is of some help to some of you out there.

    Great review though otherwise.

    ~ the riddler

    • Hello the riddler,

      Many thanks for the useful information. I agree with everything you said apart from your comment on the paint job, I actually like the minimal style of the Montague Pro, especially the black colour.

      Anyway, thanks for sharing your knowledge, I’m sure many out there will benefit from your input.

      Regards,
      Paul

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.