Schwinn Loop 20-Inch Folding Bike Review

Schwinn Loop 20-Inch
Schwinn Loop 20-Inch in Black

Our Rating

8 Build Quality

7 Design

7 Riding Experience

5 Mobility

9 Value for Money

A great value, solid folding bike but on the heavy side.

The Schwinn Loop 20-Inch (Previously known as the Schwinn Loop 7-Speed Folding Bike) is an entry level folding bicycle which offers rock-solid construction along with quick and easy unpacking and a relatively pleasurable riding experience.

The bike is let down by its excessive weight, but it more than makes for it with its low price and design quality as a whole.

The Schwinn Loop 20″ is perhaps the most popular sub $300 folding bike currently on the market.

RRP: $289.99 – view sale price

▼ Read our full review below ▼

Our Loop 20 Review

What’s the best folding bike? The Schwinn Loop 20 is currently ranked #7 in our Top 10 Best Folding Bikes.

Any bike made predominantly out of steel will last many years, the Schwinn Loop 20″ is no exception to this – it does feel sturdy I’ll give it that. But the overuse of steel has meant that the bike is heavy. It’s not going to suit people looking to commute daily to their work, especially if they are needing to carry it places for long periods of time. I’d say this bike really comes into its own as an ‘occasional use’ bike. One that you might have folded up and put in the back of your car or one you take away on holiday.

You can compare weights and total folding size of all the folding bikes we’ve reviewed and sort them accordingly over on our Best Folding Bikes Table page.

It’s not to say that the Schwinn Loop can’t be used regularly or for commuting to work, it’s just that there are other, more suitable bikes, for this role.

After being initially impressed with it’s solid construction we were later taken aback by its ease of folding and unfolding, it takes quite literally 15 seconds to assemble!

The brakes are also good, as are the road tyres which provide plenty of surface area and grip in wet conditions. The design of the bike also allows you to easily step through to sit on the seat so there is no need to swing your leg over the bike to sit down, this I’m sure will appeal to the slightly older or shorter among us or people looking for a more relaxed riding experience.

The seat is adjustable, and it has perhaps the longest seat-post I’ve ever seen on a bike so no doubt it will be able to accommodate very tall people with ease. Unfortunately, the handlebars aren’t adjustable (but at this price, you can’t really expect them to be!); neither myself or my friend found an issue with this, however, we are very ‘normal’ in height and build it could be an issue for the very short or tall.

So that’s what we really liked about the bike. Next we can move on to the negatives

First off, the seat. It’s really not comfy, not in the slightest. It’s very hard, kind of narrow and doesn’t have any ‘give’. It’s hard. If you’re looking to buy this bike then set a little money aside to buy yourself a nicer saddle, if you do, you’ll get twice the amount of pleasure from riding this bike. For short trip down to the shops not really a problem, but anything more than 15 minutes (or even 10) it’s a real pain in the arse (pun intended).

Schwinn has opted to keep costs down on the Loop 20-inch and one place this is noticeable is on the rear derailleur, whilst it’s still a Shimano, it is their lowest-end setup, and one that’s likely going to wear quickly if using this bike daily.

When delivered, the Loop 20 comes with its own carry case. It’s a nice gesture, but the case itself is VERY fragile and after putting the bike inside it you could almost hear it creak under the weight of the bike. The quality is very low and I almost feel it would have been better to simply exclude the bag altogether. The one plus side though is that it is good enough to store your bike in if it’s going to be sitting in the back of your car, probably not good for much else.

I’ve tried to paint the Schwinn Loop 20-inch in an honest light and it might seem like there are a lot of bad points to the bike but the truth be told, it’s a very, very, decent bike for the price you pay for it. It is heavy, but it’s also sturdy, it’s a bit of a trade-off. I’d recommend this bike to anybody who’s not using it for a daily commute or more than a few times a week.

Lifetime WarrantyThe Schwinn Loop 20 also comes with an unlimited lifetime warranty.

Have a look at our other Schwinn folding bike reviews in our Schwinn Reviews section.

▼ Test Ride Results and Full Bike Specifications below ▼

BIKE MOST SIMILAR TO THE SCHWINN LOOP 20

Sueh Q1

strong, reliable, great value

Read Review

 

Price

The RRP for the Schwinn Loop 20-Inch is $289.99. We struggled to find it cheaper online. 🙂

Save $85.88 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $204.11)

UK Price: ~ £149.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 19th June, 2017: $204.11 (30% saving)

Receive instant email notifications when price falls below $204.11

(max 1 email per week)

Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 12th Jun 2017 : $269.99
 5th Jun 2017 : $260.12
 29th May 2017 : $219.99
 *** 22nd May 2017 : $200.00 *** BEST PRICE
 15th May 2017 : $235.00
 8th May 2017 : $235.00
 [...]

The Schwinn Loop 20-Inch Test Ride

Schwinn Loop 20 Green Ready for Test Ride

My friend and I decided to take the Schwinn Loop 20-Inch out for a ride (one at a time of course) and we were both pleased with the ride. At the time, it was raining a little outside and the streets were wet but the tires held up well and gripped well. The non-adjustable handlebars weren’t an issue and we found them to be placed almost perfectly (I’m 5’10” my friend almost 6 foot, 177cm & ~ 182cm), the maneuverability was excellent for us both.

My regular folding bike is half the weight of the Loop 20, and for me the weight difference in the two was considerable. My friend agreed but to a lesser extent and said that it was “acceptable”. Gear changes were smooth and brakes were pretty good, perhaps a little spongy on the front but that’s me just being picky. We didn’t go up any major hills but have no doubt that it wouldn’t be an issue given the gear ratio.

Because it was raining and the seat is hard, we were both only out for 10-15 minutes so wasn’t a true road test but ample for our needs.

Note that we obviously weren’t folding it down and setting it back up and never had to carry it anywhere. The uncomfortable seat and the excess weight if you have to carry it places are really the only two major gripes with this bike, if you can live with these or find solutions to them, then you have yourself a fantastic, durable bike at a great price!

Highly Recommended Upgrades

With a couple of low-cost upgrades you can convert the Loop-20 into a great folding bicycle and enjoy a much nicer riding experience. My personal essential upgrades:

Disclaimer: As a product reviewer for Folding Bike 365, I am providing my unbiased opinion of any bikes or products featured on this site; reviewed bikes have either been purchased, borrowed or provided to us by bicycle manufacturers. I do not posses any type of relationship with the manufacturer’s company or parent companies. Companies that send in their goods to be reviewed do not compensate me any way.

This page also links out to bikes which can be purchased on Amazon.com, to which I am affiliate. The website earns a small commission on any sales which are generated from this site. All reviews remain unbiased.

Conclusion


Pros

  • Solid Design and Build
  • Well known brand
  • Loop design makes mounting/dismounting easy, especially for shorter riders
  • Fantastic value for money
  • Adjustable seat
  • Easy to fold/use
  • Great brakes
  • Welded bike rack
Cons

  • Heavy (almost everything is made of steel)
  • Hard and narrow seat for a cruiser – not great for long journeys!
  • Handlebars don’t adjust
  • Poor components in areas
  • Carry bag is very low quality
  • Thin paint quality

If you’re on a budget, looking for a folding bike that will last you a long time and don’t have to carry it excessive distances then the Schwinn Loop 20″ is for you – it’s a fabulous bike and offers great value. You’re unlikely to find a better folding bike for the same or similar price in its class. The bike is heavy and component quality is lacking in areas but it does the job well; its probably more suited for those on holiday or who have it in the trunk of their car ready to get out for a quick cycle. Recommended? Yes, highly recommended. – Paul Thomson


Get our Latest Reviews Direct to Your Inbox

Join over 700+ people and get our latest folding bike reviews sent direct to your inbox each week. You are free to unsubscribe at anytime. We don't sell or share your information with anyone else, we're nice people!

Video Review

Don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel to get access to HD videos of hundreds of folding bike reviews!

Basic Specs

Download the 2014 Schwinn Loop 20 Owners Manual.

  • Weight: 14.5 kg (32 lbs)
  • Suggested Rider Height: 147 – 189 cm (4’10” – 6’2″)
  • Max. Rider Weight: 104 kg (230 lbs)
  • 7 Gears
  • Alloy V-Brakes (linear)
  • Aluminum Alloy Frame
  • 20″ alloy wheels with smooth tyres
  • ** Full Specifications and FAQ Below **

Photo Gallery

  • Schwinn Loop 20-Inch
    Schwinn Loop 20-Inch in Black

Common Questions / FAQ

  • Country of Manufacture: CHINA
  • Bike rack included: YES
  • Front and Back Fenders Included: YES
  • Carry bag included: YES
  • Handle Bar Adjustment: NO
  • Do the Pedals Fold: YES (Just the right hand one)
  • Got a Question? Ask me here (I aim to respond within 15-20 minutes)

Detailed Bike Specifications

Color: Black / Green
Wheel size:  20 inches
Folded size: 30″ X 32″ X 11 Inch (76 × 81 x 28 cm)
Product Weight: 14.5 kg (32 lbs)
Frame: Aluminum Alloy
Handlepost: Steel
Forks: Steel
Brakes: V-Brakes (Linear), Steel. Aluminium levers.
Grips: Shimano grip-shift
Gears: Simano (low end)
Crankset: 3-piece single-speed crank set. Aluminum crank. Steel Chain ring
Seatpost: Steel
Spokes: Steel, 24 Spoke Design
Pedals: Plastic, Foldable
Tyres: Street Tyres, Smooth
Kickstand: YES, Steel
Suggested Rider Height: 147 – 189 cm (4’10” – 6’2″)
Max. Rider Weight: 104 kg (230 lbs)
Shipping Weight: 41.1 lbs (18.6 kgs)
Box Dimensions: 28″ x 17″ x 30″ (72cm x 43cm x 77 cm).

Buy Now / More Info

More info on the Schwinn Loop 20-Inch Folding Bike can be found on the Amazon page below, along with past customer reviews of the product and a handful of questions and answers from the community.

The RRP for the Schwinn Loop 20-Inch Folding Bike is $289.99.

Save $85.88 here on Amazon.com (Discounted Price: $204.11)

UK Price: ~ £149.99 (Check Prices Here on Amazon.co.uk)

Price Last Checked: 19th June, 2017: $204.11 (30% saving)
Past recorded prices (from amazon.com)
 12th Jun 2017 : $269.99
 5th Jun 2017 : $260.12
 29th May 2017 : $219.99
 *** 22nd May 2017 : $200.00 *** BEST PRICE
 15th May 2017 : $235.00
 8th May 2017 : $235.00
 [...]

Additional Resources


Please consider sharing this review on your Facebook or Twitter channels. It helps support the site and is greatly appreciated! Thank you.

3 Comments

  • Sarah says:

    Thanks for the review Paul, the Schwinn 20 looks like it might be a good option for me as I have a small problem with my hip which makes it a little difficult to swing my leg over normal bikes.

    Could you please let me know if there is any likelihood of getting oil on your clothes when carrying or folding up as I realise that there isn’t a chain protector like you find on other folding bikes.

    Also how easy would it be to change the pedals, is it something that I could do myself or something that I would have to take into the local bike shop for? I’m 50+ and not massively strong if that helps!!

    Thank you

  • Hari says:

    It looks heavy and rather girly… Casual riding and not one for the businessman daily commute?! good price point though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.